Love Unconditional

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mirrors September 24, 2009

Filed under: parenting — Trisha @ 3:28 am

Chubby hands on my face, kisses on my nose. The words “Hi mommy.” gently whispered. This is my life at 11:30pm on a Tuesday night. My two-year isn’t sleeping and neither am I. With each kiss on my nose, my frustration at being up so late watching Sesame Street diminishes.
We have a game we play, my daughter and I. She pulls me towards her, puts her hands on my cheeks, and kisses my nose. She says, in a singsong voice, “Hi mommy, you my best friend.” I tell her she is my darling, she says, “Mommy, you my darling.” She parrots every thing I say back to her, a mirror reflecting my love. Motherhood is a tough job, a great responsibility. Like it or not, she will reflect what she sees. In those quiet late night moments I am thankful that the challenges of the day fade away and Grace is a mirror reflecting only love.

 

Leave a Reply

